RSS Feed

Menu Plan Monday

This weekend my daughter was talking about eating at the ballpark after/during baseball games.  I explained to her that since she ate $5 worth at the game last week we would be eating at home most of the time.  To this the hubby cries ‘just regular food please!  I am not a hamster!  Stop testing things on me!’  He was very dramatic. 

When I buy groceries I buy for specific recipes that I plan to make,  I write the list on a notecard that I stick to the fridge.  I then plan our menus from that.  I tried planning menus 1 month at a time.  Doesn’t work in this house.  We are too spontaneous.  Back to the point.  Thinking of my poor husband, I looked at the notecard on the fridge to plan out this week’s menu and discovered only new recipes.  So I scrambled through the list to come up with things that were tried and true to make out of the things we have.  When in doubt, cook recipes his mother gave you!

Monday:  Mother-in-Law’s   Ham and Noodles (yum)

Tuesday: Tacos – gonna try making homemade refried beans – any tips?

Wednesday:  Fish and pasta salad

Thursday:  Eat at the ballpark (we have a game at 5:30 and one at 7:00 – I’m not cooking at 8:30!)

Friday:  Spaghetti

Saturday:  Dried Beef Gravy on Toast

Sunday:  on advice from a friend – Fend For Yourself!

My friend has six young children.  She homeschools.  She is sweet.  She asks to help ME!  She told me she needs one day of rest.  No laundry, no cooking.  She tells the kids to find something to eat themselves.  If it in any way contributes to her sweetness, I’ll try it.  I’ll just try to have good leftovers available!

Ham & Noodles

3 cups cubed ham

1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

2 cans cream of chicken soup

1 1/2 cups milk

1 recipe homemade noodles

Crushed potato chips for topping

Makes one 9 x 13 casserole or two square casseroles.  Freezes beautifully, just put the chips on right before baking

Bake at 350* for 30 minutes.

About fakingfabulous

I am a wife and a mommy. I'm still trying to figure out how that happened.

Leave a Reply

