RSS Feed

Nacho – Nacho Man…I want to be- a nacho man!

I don’t really want to be a nacho man but it fit the song .  I do love nachos.  What could be better?  Meaty, cheesy, crunchy, gooey.  It is all that and a bag of chips.  One day I was cruising BlogLand and found this recipe.  I copied it down and never once thought I would care where I copied it down from – so if you know where I got this, please let me know.  I need to send them some flowers.  Or maybe a crate of tomatoes would be more appropriate?

This is a perfect summer supper.  You can prep all of the ingredients and keep them in the fridge until you are ready to eat.  Turn on the crock pot after work and run to 1 to 4 t-ball games, depending on your stamina.  When you get home this will be waiting for you.  And you didn’t heat up your house to make this.  And if you add some jalapenos they will make you sweat and cool you off.  Unless you live in Iowa like me where the humidity is 98% and sweat only makes you wetter, not cooler.  Now that we have discussed sweat, let’s move on to the food, shall we?

Ok – get out your little party crock pot.  Not the big giganto one, the little cute one that collects dust in the basement. 

In your crock pot mix together:

  • 1 pound ground beef – browned
  • 1 can refried beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/2 cup water
  • garlic powder

Cook in crock pot on low for a couple of hours or just until hot.

Serve over tortilla chips with lettuce, black olives, sour cream, tomatoes, and of course cheese.  My family likes the liquid nacho cheese that comes in a can – but if you don’t eat food from Mars any cheese will work.

Quick tip of the day – make large batches of browned ground beef and freeze in 2 cup portions.  2 cups equal 1 pound of cooked ground beef.  Then you can have these nachos or sloppy joes on the table in under 10 minutes if you need to.

About fakingfabulous

I am a wife and a mommy. I'm still trying to figure out how that happened.

2 responses »

  1. I kind of want to run out and buy a crock pot to make these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

