RSS Feed

Black Friday – where do you stand?

I had never heard of Black Friday until I was an assistant manager at Wal-Mart.  Everyone was talking about Black Friday and I had to stop someone and ask what it was.  After looking at me like I had grown a second head they explained it was the biggest shopping day of the year.  The Olympics of shopping.  I was struck mute.  I had been shopping all these years and not once even witnessed this event!

Black Friday rolled around and I was scheduled to work the evening shift – report for duty at 10 am.  I showed up at 4:30am.  I was not going to miss out again.  I was standing in one of the main aisles when BossMan walked by and said ‘you better move  kid’  “oh, I’m ok”  He turned around and came face to face with me and said ‘if you stand there you will be trampled and I don’t have time for the ER today.  See that wall of jeans?  Climb halfway up it if you need to see this”  BossMan walked to the front door to unlock it. (This was many years ago when Wal-Mart still closed for Thanksgiving)  I was told later that he would never allow anyone else to unlock the doors on Black Friday because of the danger. He had been injured badly on many occasions.  The doors opened, hundreds of people ran in like a tidal wave.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The excitement!  The danger!  The competition!  I was hooked immediately!  I have never missed another Black Friday!

What are your plans this Friday?  Are you going?  Are you making it a day out with friends?  Are you hiding in your house with the blinds drawn and the phone turned off like my mom?

If you are planning on shopping, here is a great site to check out.     www.theblackfriday.com  All the ads in one place. 

A couple of my must-haves this year:

Walgreens has Colgate toothpaste on sale for $3 with $3 register rewards with each purchase plus I have a $1 off coupon.  I will make money on toothpaste.  Score!  Also Scunci hair ties are 2 for $3 with $3 register rewards for two – meaning free!

Wal-mart has the Shark Steam mop for $38 – do I need one?  Is it that much better than a mop?  Let me know….

Menard’s has an alarm clock for 4.99 that flies a thing off of the top when the alarm goes off and the alarm won’t stop until you find the flying piece and put it back on the top which forces you out of bed making you less likely to go back to sleep and more likely to write terrible run-on sentences.  My brother will be receiving one of those.  He he he

Anything you can’t live without this season?

About fakingfabulous

I am a wife and a mommy. I'm still trying to figure out how that happened.

Leave a Reply

