RSS Feed

Super Simple Cider

While I was in college I worked at a greenhouse.  It was magical – I would have worked there for free.  Thankfully they not only paid me they also fed me.  In the front of the store where all the gifty – cutesy things were they kept a popcorn machine going all the time.  Free popcorn for all customers!  Also free food for broke college students.  I ate a LOT of popcorn.

Right after Thanksgiving every year they would pump up the Christmas music and put a large coffee pot on the counter.  You know the ones – big silver thing found in church basements around the universe.  Or at least Iowa.  Every morning they would stock the coffee pot with hot apple cider.  I was rarely the first one in the store in the mornings so I never made the cider.  I drank gallons of the stuff and couldn’t figure out how they made it.  One Saturday I came in extra early to discover the secret.  I will share it with you if you promise not to tell anyone……

Candy Red Hots and Apple Juice

That is the entire recipe.  To make an industrial-size pot just mix several bottles of apple juice with one box of Red Hots.

To make this at home drop eight to ten Red Hots in the bottom of your favorite mug, splash in some apple juice and zap in the microwave.  Stir and slurp to your heart’s content.

Does that make grammatical sense?  ‘to your heart’s content’  Should it be UNTIL your heart’s content?  I don’t know – I’m not good at answers, only questions.

I have made this in a large batch in my coffee pot – it made a sticky mess and made coffee taste weird for a while.  It would be better to just heat it in a tea-pot or regular pan on the stove.

About fakingfabulous

I am a wife and a mommy. I'm still trying to figure out how that happened.

Leave a Reply

