RSS Feed

Baked Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal

This oatmeal was very good.  Can you hear my mom yelling?  She can’t believe I said I liked oatmeal.  When I was a baby I refused to eat oatmeal – gave it all right back to her.  My brother too.  As a result we did not eat oatmeal as kids and now I think of it as a treat.  Just like brussels sprouts – never ate them growing up and now I love them.  Weird, huh?

What?  Oh, you want the oatmeal recipe!  Sure! I got this from JoyInMyKitchen.  She tends to eat a little healthier than I do so I will include my tweaks to make this oatmeal more like dessert.

1c oats

1/2 c applesauce (I used 1/4c butter)

1/2 c milk

splash of vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

3 T maple syrup ( I also added some brown sugar)

Mix all of this up and place in small oven safe bowls or ramekins and bake at 375* for 15 minutes – meanwhile:

Frosting:

1 T cream cheese (again I switched to butter – I don’t like cream cheese frosting)

4T powdered sugar

splash of vanilla

Milk to make it just right

When your oatmeal is done baking pour a drizzle of frosting on the top and eat.

Tip!  If you are feeding this to kids or eating this in the car or eating this on the couch here is a great way to protect fingers from very hot bowls:

 

Get a large cereal bowl, put a dish towel in it, then put your small bowl inside it.  Keeps your fingers nice and cool!

 

About fakingfabulous

I am a wife and a mommy. I'm still trying to figure out how that happened.

Leave a Reply

